Have you got 2 in there?   5 comments

For those of you who are lacking in the social grace department, let us help you out by providing a list of things you should not say to a pregnant woman.

  1. Wow, you look uncomfortable.
  2. Are you past your due date?
  3. My friend had acne when she was pregnant, just like you!
  4. Aren’t you worried about losing all that baby weight?
  5. Have you got 2 in there?

#5 just happens to be our blog topic for today. At lunch today, the nice lady who was serving food at Julie’s work cafeteria asked how she was feeling and then followed up the first question by asking how much longer she had until her due date. When Julie responded “4 months”, cafeteria lady asked “Have you got 2 in there?” No, ma’am— just one, normal size baby. Julie wasn’t really offended just very amused. There is no way she looks (much) more than 5 months pregnant and there is certainly no way she looks like she is carrying twins. Here is photographic evidence (and this is the sweater that Julie wore to work today).

Just one baby in there. Julie is also going to attribute the swollen-looking face to a combination of being extremely tired and wearing very little makeup. But now back to the moral of the blog— be nice to pregnant ladies. Tell them they look wonderful even if they’ve never look worse and never, ever ask if they are carrying more than 1 baby.

Posted December 15, 2010 by Nate and Julie in Uncategorized

5 responses to “Have you got 2 in there?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m glad that lady didn’t see ME when I was pregnant! No one made any idiotic comments to me (to my face) while I was pregnant. But I was well aware of how I looked anyhow lol. You definitely don’t look big for 5 months. You look exactly right 🙂 I love your blog.

  2. Phew! I’m glad that lady asked cause I’ve been wondering the same thing. JUST KIDDING, Seester. I think that lady is hilarious though — balsy and socially inept, too. You and Millie look just right. By the way, I’m loving your long hair and that sweater is really cute! Maternity?

  3. Bless you, Courtney. My face is definitely a bit puffier than it was pre-pregnancy, but it’s all worth it, right? I’m glad you’re reading the blog– we set it up for family (and friends) to keep everyone updated. And Jen, yes, the sweater is maternity (a wonderful gift from my MIL). As for my hair, THANKS. I brushed it in the morning and that was all. 🙂 Prenatal vitamins do wonders for hair!

  4. You look beautiful! I am so excited to meet Millie, last time I was with her she was a little bean, now she can totally hear us gooing and ooing over how excited we are she is coming. I love reading the posts, I find them humorous and joyous. I love Keyse family! Miss you 🙂

Leave a Reply

