Sleepless in Cincinnati   5 comments

Last night, Julie had trouble sleeping. For those of you who know Julie well, you will understand just how devastating this is. Julie loves to sleep. Julie is really good at sleeping. Some people are long distance runners— Julie is a long distance sleeper. (PS- this is Julie writing this, and I’d like to stop referring to myself in the third person, so I’m going to go ahead and do that now.) I have always required a lot of sleep, as in 8 hours minimum. I’m really at my prime after 9-10 peaceful hours of slumber. I can fall asleep just about anywhere (in a car? oh yeah. in a chair? sure thing. standing up? i can and have). I sleep through storms (sometimes even sirens). I fall asleep on the couch regularly (usually around 9:30 pm… I find that to be a wonderful time to doze off). When Nate and I were first married, he quickly learned to talk to me BEFORE we got into bed since I can fall into a deep sleep within seconds of getting beneath the covers. So, last night was miserable. I am normally a stomach sleeper. However, since Millie Lou has taken up residence in my uterus, I have been forced to sleep on my side. I have a great body pillow (courtesy of my wonderful mother-in-law) and that certainly helps me feel somewhat comfortable, but it’s just not as nice as snuggling up to my pillow and falling asleep on my stomach. Last night, between the aches and pains that come along with being 32 weeks pregnant and the unnatural side sleeping position, I laid awake and got my first taste of what it must be like to be one of those people who toss and turn at night. I didn’t like it. I really, really like sleeping and just a bit of an interruption in my nocturnal routine throws off my whole next day. Anyone see where I’m going with this? I’ve heard people say that the sleepless nights of the 3rd trimester get the expectant mother ready for the sleepless nights that accompany life with a newborn. I am not sure that I will ever be ready for those sleepless nights. Certainly it won’t be that bad, right? My mom says that she had to wake me (and twin sister Jennifer) to feed us in the early days. ALL we wanted to do was sleep (seriously, I love sleep!). So maybe Millie will be a good sleeper like her mother. I certainly hope so. If she’s not, watch out. I am going to be a crabby mommy. (I used to worry that I wouldn’t be woken up by Millie’s cry for midnight feedings, but friends assure me that even I will be woken by the sound of a crying baby… I might still act like I don’t hear… what’s that, Nate? Oh, was she crying? I guess I didn’t hear her…)

Posted March 3, 2011 by Nate and Julie in Uncategorized

5 responses to “Sleepless in Cincinnati

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. See yet another reason why I love having you as a friend. I love my sleep too and was concerned with the same. Yes, motherly instincts kick in. Even hough I sleep through storms, when my girl coughs, I wake up! But I think you should fake not hearing now and then! 🙂 And you will totally appreciate stomach sleeping again–that is so hard to do without!!!

  2. Your story is my story lol. I LOVE sleep. But all during my pregnancy I had trouble sleeping. I would randomly wake up in the middle of the night due to any sound and I couldn’t go back to sleep. Once she was born, I never had the luxury of having to wake her for a feeding. She was my alarm clock every 3 hours or so. She started sleeping 5 or 6 hours at a time fairly early though, when she was about 6 weeks old and quickly went to 7 or 8 hours. Good luck with the not-sleeping. It’s gonna be rough for a while 😦

  3. Sorry about the sleep Seester. It will get better though. I am really hopeful that Millie will take after us in the sleep arena. And if not, just remember the time difference — I will alow you to call up to 2 AM your time and will happily cheer you up. Unless I need my sleep :-).

  4. Sorry Girl! Can I say I feel your pain. Gracie slept 7 or 8 hours at seven weeks. John, well four hours is still the best we can do and he is almost four months. Sooner or later we will both sleep again.

    • Melissa, I don’t know how you do it, but I guess I’ll soon find out. I’ll probably end up calling you to boo-hoo in the early days and get some advice on how to power through!

Leave a Reply

