Say Cheese   13 comments

Way back at my first OB appointment, I was given a stack of paperwork to read. The packet included some basic what to expect information as well as pre-registration materials for the hospital. Also included was information about newborn pictures that parents can choose to have taken while still in the hospital. I decided pretty quickly that I was not interested in the newborn pictures. Here is my thought process— I have rarely seen a beautiful newborn picture. I am thinking of those shots where baby is just out of the womb, head still a bit cone-like from the journey, with baby acne and an overall “not cute” look. (Note- I was going to insert a picture of an ugly newborn here, just to show you what I’m talking about. I googled “ugly newborn” but just couldn’t bring myself to post a picture— I mean, that’s somebody’s kid… somebody’s ugly kid…) Anyway, I am not overly interested in having super posed pictures of Baby Millie. That’s right, no Olan Mills- style pictures for the Keyse family.

 (Okay, I just couldn’t resist putting in this picture. My parents definitely had a picture of Jennifer and I in this same, unnatural pose.) Instead of posed, I want pictures that remind me of what life was like with my baby (Awww, look Nate— remember that time when she crawled over to the dog’s food and took a taste? or Hey, remember how much she drooled?). I want to remember something when I see pictures (I guess remembering the time I took her to Olan Mills to be posed is a memory, but just not the kind I’m looking for). Bottom line, instead of traditional 3 month, 6 month, 9 month, ect photographs, I want to take a lot of candid pictures of Millie. Sure, lots will be posed, but they will be posed at home where she will  (hopefully)look natural. Now, here is the dilemma. I have a point and shoot camera and I am debating whether or not to invest in a camera upgrade so as to best capture all of those special moments. Anyone have any thoughts on this? Certainly, a nicer camera would helpful in dim lighting and would be particularly nice when Millie starts squirming and moving around (my point-and-shoot camera requires lots of light and absolute stillness during the shot. That’s probably why so many pictures of Major Tom turn out blurry!). I have my eyes on an entry-level Nikon digital SLR and a similar model by Canon. I can (here comes a pun) picture myself snapping all kinds of pictures of Millie Lou with those bad boys. (Check it out, Nate! I took 200 pictures of her today!) But, do I NEED it?? Ah, dilemmas.

PS— 34 week update: Millie is measuring RIGHT on her due date (April 25, for those that need a reminder). I (Julie) am feeling pretty good (a tad uncomfortable in the evenings and at night). We go back to the doctor in 2 weeks and then weekly until Millie’s birth day.

Posted March 17, 2011 by Nate and Julie in Julie, Millie, Nathaniel

13 responses to “Say Cheese

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We both love Leslie’s Nikon D3000 DSLR. She also uses a NIkon D40 at school for yearbook which she says she likes a little better. Most of my geek engineer coworkers have also chosen Nikons over Canons as well, for what thats worth.

  2. Yay! You’re getting close! We also opted out of the newborn photos. Too expensive! We just took ones of our own. We did get Olan Mills portraits at 3 months because we got a free coupon (LOL) in our gift bag from the hospital. And we have since gotten some professional photos but newborn ones I just couldn’t justify. I do wish we had a better digital camera though, so I’d say go for it.

    • I am pumped that you guys got Olan Mills pictures! Have you posted them? I’m not totally against professional pictures I am just thinking I’d rather put the money towards a camera so we can take pictures all the time… or maybe I’m just trying to justify the purchase.

  3. I can not stop looking at the picture of that poor baby and laughing. It’s so…horrible and awesome. And it totally does remind me of the pictures of us as babies (white and red outfits with tights, right?). Gah! So funny.

    And please keep in mind the link I sent you of the swede with her precious sleeping baby pictures. Those will be amazing.

    As for camera recommendations, I’m pretty sure Mom’s been very happy with her 4th of July disposable kodak cameras. You’re welcome.

    • I lost it when I read that part about the disposable camera. Too true. Mom does love the disposables. She told me they make disposable digital cameras now (like that makes it ok for her to be in her mid-fifties and not own a camera).

  4. We are having the same debate over at Casa McCoy. I wanted to get a photog to come to our house and shoot a newborn session, D suggested we just buy a nicer camera and do it ourselves. Such a hard decision!!!!

    • It is tough! Bud takes fantastic pictures and he has offered to take some newborn shots for us but I still think I’d like a nicer camera so that I can take WAY too many pictures on a daily basis. I’ll let you know what we decide.

    • PS- did you notice the Nikon is the same one John and Sherry use on their blog? I am such a stalker and I think I am leaning toward the Nikon in part because of their recommendation.

  5. Yeah, I agree Jen, I can’t stop staring at that kid, in fact I’m contemplating sending it out to my whole office. I am so happy for you guys! Sounds like a great onvestment for precious memories. I really liked the Nikon because I am pretty techstupid and its as easy as a point and shoot. I can’t wait for pictures.

    • I really wasn’t trying to make fun of that baby picture… I think she’s (he? I’m not totally confident on the gender) probably cute, but that pose just does nothing for her.

      • Too true. The baby is not an ugly baby, he/she simply had the misfortune of being born to parents who think an infant causally resting his/her head in his/her hands is a natural pose. It is not.

  6. I vote that you go for the camera upgrade. I’m only 10 weeks and it’s already on my list of important things to have ready for the birth and baby.
    It’s actually very cool to look back at the pictures my parents took in the hospital of me and to see the first backwards diaper my father put on my brother.
    The pictures you take will be memories that Millie won’t have but can enjoy when she looks at the images later in life.

Leave a Reply

