It’s the Final Countdown   10 comments

Well, it’s almost the final countdown. That’s right, as of Monday April 4th, Millie will officially be considered “full term” which means— she could come ANY day. Whoo hoo! Back at the end of August, when we first learned that we were expecting, I thought that April sounded like it was a world away. I can’t believe the calendar finally turned over to Millie’s due-date month. Now, I know what some of you are thinking— there’s no guarantee that Millie will be born in April. She could easily be late and arrive in May. Well, keep your thoughts to yourselves, please. Just let me enjoy the thought that this pregnancy is nearly over! I must say, I have had about enough of the whole pregnancy thing. Along with the aches and pains that I was expecting to experience during the last few weeks, I have been weepy, stressed out, exhausted, and overwhelmed to the point where I am (almost) miserable. I don’t feel like myself (my normal self is logical, rational… this “new” self is emotional and erratic). I am ready to be done with being pregnant and more than ready to meet the little girl who has taken up residence in my uterus for the past several months. BUT, I am determined to try to think positively during the final weeks of the pregnancy. Yesterday, I as I was walking from my parking lot (at Sawyer Point) to work (at 4th and Broadway… yeah, it’s quite a trek for a pregnant lady!) I decided to distract myself from my natural inclination to focus on being uncomfortable by making  a list of the things I will miss about being pregnant. There are a few…

  1. I will miss strangers being nice to me. Not every stranger I pass is nice (like the one who said”Whoa! Any day now, huh?” when I was only 30 weeks pregnant)  but I have enjoyed my fair share of smiles and congratulations. After Millie is born, I’m sure I’ll just go back to being ignored by passing strangers, so I’m going to eat up those smiles and well wishes for the time being.
  2. I will miss the stretchy waist bands that accompany maternity pants. Ah, I love a stretchy waistband! In fact, I kind of dread the idea of having to button my pants again. I will definitely miss the dress-for-comfort part of pregnancy (not like I was a slave to fashion pre-pregnancy, but I did deal with infinitely more zippers, buttons and snaps back in the day…)
  3. I will miss  Nate talking to my belly. This one is kind of weird, but stick with me. There is something so amazingly cute about watching him lean over to tell fetus-Millie something (usually it’s “I love you, Mils” or “Be nice to your Mommy, Baby”). I love it every time he does it! I’m sure I’ll find it cute when he leans over to tell infant-Millie something, but it won’t be the same as watching him “connect” with her now. I will absolutely miss that.
  4. I will miss eating for 2. Maybe I’ll keep doing that one.
  5. I will miss Millie being all mine. For these past months, I have been able to carry her and never once had to pass her off to someone else. I was the lucky one who got to feel her first kick and I have been the one to “get to know her”— I know her active times, her sleepy times. I know that she responds just as strongly to ice water as she does a sugar rush (she likes doughnuts, by the way). There is something unbelievably special about carrying a developing baby. She has truly felt like “mine”. I know that, first of all, that’s just an illusion. She is not mine— she belongs to God. And after she’s born, I would be stupid to think that she’s mine— she will be a gift from God, someone who He has trusted Nate and I to raise. We are not raising her to be “ours”— we want to raise her to be His. That being said, she feels like mine now. And I know that feeling will disappear with the sound of her first cry. I will miss it.  

So there you have it. 5 things that I will miss about being pregnant. That’s honestly all I can think of right now. It would be much easier to make a list of things I won’t miss (I could come up with WAY more than 5), but I’m trying to keep my spirits up. Feel free to help me  with this— encouraging words and prayers are much appreciated. It’s (almost) the final countdown, people!

______________________________________

Enter Nate: Five things I’ll miss about Julie being pregnant.

  1. Sleeping better than Julie. Nonpregnant Julie sleeps like a rock. She lays down and is asleep within minutes (sometimes seconds). Nate on the other hand lies awake for a long time thinking about all sorts of things. Now, I know when Millie arrives neither of us will sleep, but sooner or later Julie will fall right back into her role of queen of sleeping. and Nate will lie awake and watch her jealously.
  2. Feeling Millie’s baby kicks. Creepiest miracle ever.
  3. Imagining Millie to be perfect. Right now I can imagine Millie as anything. She’s going to be a good baby, and a cool kid, and grow up to be something awesome. When she comes out and she is living in our house, undeniably loud and smelly, and eventually obnoxious (Millie from age 4-10) I will be forced to face reality.
  4. Sympathy eating. I’m a really good husband. When Julie says “Nate, I’m in the mood for a hot fudge cake…” I’ve already got my coat and car keys and am heading out the door. I get myself a hot fudge cake too so Julie won’t feel self conscious and when her eyes are bigger than her stomach I can finish up to keep her from feeling wasteful.

Okay, I can only come up with four. I’m way too excited to meet her. Julie is hogging her right now.

Posted April 2, 2011 by Nate and Julie in Uncategorized

10 responses to “It’s the Final Countdown

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love this guys! FYI Nate, go ahead and expand that “obnoxious age” upper cap from 10 to 14. Preteen girls are the worst and if Millie is anything like her mother and aunt, you have some moody preteen/early teen years ahead of you. Lucky you!

    • We were mouthy, I’ll give you that. But Mom and Dad really lucked out in the “rebellious” department when it came to our late-teen behavior (as in we weren’t boy crazy, we were in bed at 10 most nights, and, if we did “go out” we were 4 minutes away at Amee’s). I think it all evens out. You’re welcome, Mom and Dad.

  2. You guys are so cute! I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU BOTH!

  3. This is such a fun post. I loved it all! I’ve enjoyed reading each post y’all do. And I think y’all are super cute parents already. Can’t wait to see you as you continue once she’s born!!

  4. I also have enjoyed each post and believe you two will be awesome parents. Maybe you can keep the blog going or make a new one for Millie growing up. Hugs to you both.

    Marilyn AKA Meryl Stryker
  5. I think #5 will first be broken by Nate (I guess as the other partner in this pregnancy he deserves to hold her first…long sigh). However, Echo is going to be fighting tooth and nail to hold that sweet baby. You think we’re kidding about making a Millie Holding Sign-Up Sheet. We’re not. I plan on making it…and then writing my name in every slot. Beth=SELFISH BABY HOGGER. (Insert evil laugh here…or Bud’s laugh/gasp/gagging/crying laugh. I think I like that one better)

  6. Somehow I missed this when it first appeared. Thanks for making us cry with #5 Julie. We’re looking forward to having Millie passed off to us, but we promise not to hog her (too much)

Leave a Reply

