Millie Louise Keyse   11 comments

SHE’S HERE!! That’s right, Millie Louise Keyse made her way into the world at 4:51 pm on Friday, April 29 (apparently she didn’t want William and Kate to be the only “news” that day). For those of you who are interested, here are some of the details of the day (I promise not to get too graphic, but for those of you who don’t want anyย birth talk, you may just want to skip over to our Facebook pages and just check out the pictures).

Our due date was Monday, April 25. My post-due appointment was on Tuesday, and after being assured that Millie was still doing fine in the womb, I was given “permission” to stay pregnant for a little while longer. My doctor tentatively scheduled an induction for May 2 in case Millie needed some help getting here, but she and I were both hopeful that I would go into labor on my own. Then Wednesday came and went. Then Thursday. I’d had a subtle back ache all day Thursday, so I was hopeful that meant labor would soon start.

Friday morning, I woke up in the 5am hour with a pain in my abdomen. About 20 minutes later, I felt it again. I got out of bed and dressed for work before mentioning anything to Nate. He said “Maybe you shouldn’t go into work today.” I said “Nate, these things take HOURS. Plus, I’m not even 100% that I’m in labor. I’m going, I’m fine.” Nate said “Well, at least let me pack the bag.” Me- “Oh, Nate. We’ll have time to do that later.”And off I went to work. I had a few contractions (every 15 minutes) and decided that after an hour, I should probably go to my doctor (I already had an appointment scheduled for that morning). I started driving to to the doctor, realized that I shouldn’t be driving, and met Nate at CCU so he could drive the rest of the way. We timed my contractions on the ride and when Nate said “Julie, they’re like 8 minutes apart”, I said “No, that can’t be right.” It was.

We walked into the doctor’s office and I said “Hi, I have an appointment, but I’m in labor.” Since I was there, the doctor had me do a non-stress test and exam. He said the baby was fine but that I wasn’t really in labor. WHAT?! By this point, the pains were every 5-7 minutes and getting stronger. Doc said we should just play the waiting game and see if this turned into anything. I must have given him a look, because he said, “Well, if you’re really that uncomfortable, go on to the hospital.”

FIRST, we ran home to pack our bag (I really should have done that earlier). I was having strong pains and was starting to think “I’m not going to be able to do this!” We arrived at the hospital around 10:30 and went to Triage where they put a monitor on me to track the contractions. Guess what. They couldn’t pick them up. None. I said “Ok, so if these aren’t contractions, what are they?” The nurse said “I don’t know. Your doctor is on the way, though.” We waiting for what seemed like forever before the doctor showed up. He checked me again and I had slightly progressed from my earlier appointment (I was at about 2-3 cm). My water broke at that point, so they went ahead and admitted us. We made it up to the Labor and Delivery floor by about 12:30 and I was trying to breathe through the contractions that were now 2 minutes apart (I wish we would have taken a labor class after all— I was not prepared for dealing with the pain! The nurses gave me some tips, and they swear I was handling it like I was planning to go natural, but whew— that was tough!). I asked for an epidural, but was told that my doctor wanted me to wait until I was 4 cm (everyone was thinking that I was still about 2-3 cm). The nurse checked me though since I was not getting much of a break between contractions (contractions that STILL weren’t showing up on the monitor) and I was already 7-8 (yep, THAT quickly) so the epidural was okayed. Once I got the epidural (around 1:30 or 2:00), I was MUCH more comfortable. I was slightly worried that the labor would slow down, but about 2 hours later, it was time to push. Nate was awesome during all of this. He was quiet and supportive when I was in pain, fun and excited post-epidural and encouraging whenit was time to push. 40 minutes later, Millie arrived: 7 pounds 4 ounces/ 20 inches long/ lots of dark hair. From start to finish, my labor was less than 12 hours— pretty quick for a first baby! My nurse said that I was a pro. I assured her that I was NOT looking to give birth professionally.

Millie was a popular baby during her stay at Good Samaritan. The nurses loved her name and everyone commented on her pretty head of hair. Nate and I, of course, were smitten with her from the start and we’re enjoying these first few days with our girl. Our first night at home was just as sleepless as we thought it would be. At about 2 am I thought, ‘Well, I guess I’m really a mom now.” But, despite the lack of sleep, I am loving it.

Millie and her Daddy

Ready to go home!

There are lots more pictures on our Facebook pages (with plenty more to come!) so feel free to check it out. Also, more updates to come soon— after feeding, changing, bathing, napping, ect… ๐Ÿ™‚ Stay tuned! (PS- we’re trying to think of a new name for the blog since have gone from expecting to proud parents… any ideas?)

Posted May 2, 2011 by Nate and Julie in Uncategorized

11 responses to “Millie Louise Keyse

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m extremely impressed that you managed to write a blog on minimal sleep. Bravo!

  2. Great story! I’m glad you went ahead to the hospital or you could have been 7-8 at home and that car ride would not have been fun! She’s here and she’s beautiful!

    • The nurses said that next time, I’ll have to be sure to get to the hospital quickly since #2 can come even quicker. I thought to myself “Next time?”— not ready to think about that yet!

  3. “Baby Makes Three” or “Adventures in Parenting”

  4. I enjoyed reading the story. I wondered how it all went down. Fun times. Yes, the first sleepless night. It will improve. But you definitely feel like you’re a mom. Looking back, I miss those times rocking a baby in the quiet of the night. So when you aren’t too sleep deprived, try to take it all in and cherish! ๐Ÿ™‚ [Hard when you enjoy your sleep, as I do too! But it happens!]

    Going with the style of your original blog name, a longer description, you could call it: “And now our world will never be the same”

  5. I actually kind of like what you put in the last paragraph…”From Expecting to Proud Parents”

  6. So glad she’s here and that you’re both healthy and safe.

Leave a Reply

