The First Day of the Rest of Our Lives   2 comments

I am not being dramatic when I say that today is the first day of the rest of our lives. Today is the day that Nate and I begin our bathroom remodel project! I have been wanting to remodel our bathroom since the day we moved in. Well, that’s not accurate. When we moved in our bathroom tile and tub were painted white. Now, you may be asking, why would someone paint their bathroom tiles and tub? Well we found out when I started to remove the paint last summer— pink tiles. Our house was built in 1959 (or ’58… I don’t remember which) right in the height of the pink bathroom craze. Apparently, we’re the first owners to want to change up the look. (I would actually be fine with the pink tiles, but some are cracked and in pretty bad shape, so we just decided to get rid of them all.) Here is a “before” picture of the bathroom.

And, while we’re replacing the tile, we decided to go ahead and remove the vanity that is currently in there, replace the sink, and re-paint the room for a full makeover. I really wanted to have the bathroom project done before Millie arrived, but, alas, time got away from us. It’s not too big of a deal to undertake this process with a baby in the house though. The bathroom is tiny and there’s only room for 1 person to chip away at the tile, so while one of us (me or Nate) works, the other person is on Millie-duty.

Here is how Millie and I spent our time while Nate set things up tonight. She played; I took pictures. Ah, I like Millie-duty. Anyway, neither Nate nor I have EVER done a home improvement project like this before. So, wish us luck! I will be excited to post “after” pictures soon (soon meaning in about 3-4 weeks… this is a HUGE project). I’ll leave you with a picture of the bathroom as it looked after being emptied and with a tarp down to protect the tub.

Is it bad that I already can’t wait for this project to be done??

Posted June 24, 2011 by Nate and Julie in Home Improvement, Julie, Millie, Nathaniel

2 responses to “The First Day of the Rest of Our Lives

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kitchens and Bathrooms are the worst to have torn up! Hope you have another bathroom in the meanwhile (or have very close neighbors, LOL!) Good luck! You’ll do fine…your other undertakings have come out well, no reason this one shouldn’t!

    • Thankfully we do have another bathroom with a shower in the basement. Otherwise, we probably would have hired someone to do the work for us on a faster timeline. We hope it goes well!

Leave a Reply

