We Survived   Leave a comment

We survived my first week back at work! It was tough at times (Monday was hard, but Tuesday was harder!) but other times were easier than I expected (my boss is FANTASTIC and very supportive of letting me ease back into my work load). Millie did great all week. She didn’t nap like she normally would on Monday, but by Wednesday she was back to napping 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon. I think she had fun at the sitter’s house and I am convinced she is already learning from the other kids that are there (the sitter’s 2 daughters age 7 months and 7 years old plus 2 little boys); she came home Monday and was much more vocal than normal (as in, she was loud!) and on Tuesday she grasped a toy and put it in her mouth (way to go, hand-eye coordination!). Anyway, here is a breakdown of the good and the bad from my first week back at work.

 The Good:

  • I survived! Seriously, it feels like an accomplishment. And, shockingly enough, I didn’t even cry at work Wednesday-Friday.
  • Millie survived. Not only that, she did well. The sitter told Nate “she was really happy today” several times this week.
  • My co-workers had doughnuts for me on Monday and one even brought a homemade cheesecake later in the week. Food is such a wonderful way to welcome someone back from maternity leave.
  • Some friends brought dinner to us on Monday night; she said she wanted me to have one less thing to worry about— good friends!!
  • Several times this week I thought to myself “I can do this!” This is a far cry from the “I’ll never be able to do this!” thoughts I’d had before actually going back to work.
  • This was a “slow” week at work so I didn’t have to worry about putting in extra hours.

The Bad:

  • Millie was asleep when I got home on Monday. After speed walking home from the bus stop, I was heartbroken when I walked in the door and couldn’t just hold her in my arms! I contemplated waking her, but she looked so sweet in her crib. I just couldn’t do it. Instead, I cried (and I didn’t stop until Tuesday evening).
  • The busiest time of year starts next week (August 1) and for the next 6+ weeks, things are going to be crazy at work. It makes me nervous just thinking about it!
  • I am still breastfeeding Millie, so I am pumping at work— this takes about 1.5 hours out of my day! I worry about how I’ll find the time to pump during the busy weeks I have ahead of me.
  • I have not been able to pump the full amount that Millie needs for the next day. This is REALLY stressing me out since I really want to nurse her for a full year with no formula supplements (and my freezer stash is dwindling!). 
  • My house is a mess. I am having a hard time keeping up with the housework when I want to spend my precious time at home with Nate and Millie.
  • I AM TIRED. Really tired. I have to get up early enough to get myself ready for work PLUS have time to feed Millie and get her ready for the day all before getting out of the house in time to walk to the bus stop about 5 minutes from my house.

I hard a really hard time at the beginning of the week, and Nate was so sweet and supportive. He reminded me that me working is the best thing for our family right now and told me he was proud of me. It was just what I needed to hear. Now, if I feel miserable and heartbroken at work, I will just do my best to remember why I am working— Millie and Nate are worth it, and I can do it. I mean, I did survive week one!

 

 

Posted July 30, 2011 by Nate and Julie in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

