That’s Not It   6 comments

I am a tired momma. I was tired when we first brought our newborn home, but (thankfully) the sleepless nights were few. And, since my girl is quite a good sleeper, I have been fortunate enough to get decent sleep each night since she was 5 weeks old. However, now that I am back to work, I am exhausted. My full-time job as an Underwriter requires concentration (I sometimes wish I had a mindless job, but, alas, mine requires me to think) and my full-time job as a mom takes quite a bit of energy too. Please keep all of this in mind when you read the following story, and give me a break.

The following conversation took place this morning at about 9:30 am in the hall outside my department.

Me: Hi, Co-worker! It’s good to see you!

Co-Worker: Hey, Julie! Welcome back. How was maternity leave?

Me: It was awesome!

Co-Worker: And how is Mable?

Me: Hmmmm…. Mable. That’s not it, but…(thinking hard) well, what is it?

Co-Worker: (gives me weird look)

Me: Millie! That’s it! She’s GREAT!!

Yes, for a minute or two, I forgot my kid’s name. The name Mable threw me off. It is similar to Millie (old-fashioned, starts with an “M”, 2 syllables) but it just didn’t feel right. I immediately texted Nate once I got back to my desk, confessed my stupidity, called myself a bad mom, and asked if he’s ever forgotten her name. His reply? “Not bad mom, tired mom. And not yet, but I’m sure I will at some point. I’ve already forgotten her birthday several times.”

Ah, poor Millie. Her parents are exhausted but we sure do love her.

Posted August 1, 2011 by Nate and Julie in Uncategorized

6 responses to “That’s Not It

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hehehe. I love your honesty!
    I had a similar situation the other day. I was writing down Molly’s first and middle name (Mae) on a form or something and I kept looking at her middle name like….that doesn’t look right. It is M-A-E isn’t it? Turns out that IS right. You would think I could remember the name and the unconventional spelling since I picked it out.

  2. Oh you poor, tired mommy! Never fear, we all have really crazy mommy brain at times. Hang in there. Thanks for sharing the laugh. We don’t laugh at you, just understandably!

  3. I called the Dr. office once to make an appt and could not for the life of me remember Simon’s date of birth. Welcome to Motherhood 🙂

  4. This does not make you a bad mom! You can’t help it you have baby brain! (This is when the baby steals your brain. It happened sometime during your pregnancy and happens to everyone.) From what I hear it doesn’t go away either, so there will probably be many more stories to come. My mom still doesn’t call us by the right names and interchanges the boys with the girls.

  5. You will be tired for a while until you adjust…it’s like when you got your first 40-hr a week job, after having been in college and on your own schedule…now you are on someone else’s schedule…it takes adjusting…but I KNOW you will do fine…lesser qualified folks than you have!!!

  6. I have just had a chance to catch up on your blog and it sounds like you (and Millie and Nate) are adjusting well to a work schedule. Here are some tips I have for you from when Sydney and Henry were babies. Sydney was born the last week of classes for the Fall Quarter, so she started going to the sitters less than 6 weeks after she was born because school started back. With her I didn’t really have a problem with keeping up with the breastfeeding because my classes fit with her schedule. (Actually I can’t remember having a problem with any schedule with her, that all started this past year… Ha Ha) With Henry on the other hand, He was born at the end of the Spring Semester (Man, I really planned these birthing dates) so I got to spend the whole summer with him, but when school started, I got to learn how to pump in the car in a parking garage! And I continued to breastfeed him until he was about 13 months. When he was younger (1-3 months) he would wake up early in the morning to feed then go back to sleep. By the time school started again this early morning feeding was gone, but I still woke up REALLY full. So, I began pumping about an hour or 2 before his morning feeding and storing that. I would be full again in time for breakfast and my freezer stayed stocked. The neato thing is your body adjusts to whatever is going on, so if you do this, your boobs (because really that is what I call them) think someone is eating and will still fill up when they are needed.

    I can’t really help with how to keep your house clean, because my house is always a mess and now the kids are of the age that they should be helping.

    But I always think it is best to spend a few minutes with the kids as soon as you get home instead of finding some “pressing” thing that “needs” to get done right away. It really makes you feel better and reminds them that you haven’t forgotten about them.

    This is a really long comment, so, I’ll stop, but let me know if you need anything or have any questions!

Leave a Reply

