Mom Cut   9 comments

I have a habit of growing my hair long, then chopping it off. This happens every 1.5 to 2 years (that’s how long it takes for me to grow it out). I did it right after Nate and I got married in 2007 and then again in the summer of 2009. From July ’09 to now, I’ve just been letting it grown with a few (very few) trims thrown in to keep me from looking homeless. I like long hair, but mine was getting boring. For about  an entire month after Millie was born, I lived in a ponytail. I just didn’t feel like taking the time to blow my hair dry and then go through the process of straightening when it was going to look like crap anyway (Cincinnati humidity is not good to me). I didn’t really care all that much until I went back to work. I would straighten it and then by the time I got to work (after walking from my house to the bus stop and from the bus stop to work) it would look like crap. No fun. Plus, I was itching to cut it all off (it’s been 2 years since my last big chop!) So, I got my hair cut on Saturday. I woke up, washed and blew my hair dry and decided that it was time for a change. I called a salon I’ve never been to before, got an appointment for 11:30 am and headed out. I gave my stylist 2 options: she could give me a trim and do something with my bangs to try to liven up my boring cut OR she could give me a shorter bob. I specifically told the stylist that I didn’t want a “Mom cut” but that I was ready for something new (as long as a shorter cut didn’t make my face look wider— I do not need that). She said “let’s go for it!” and started cutting. 45 minutes later, my hair was MUCH shorter.

my hair right before the cut

 

post-haircut

I’ve gotten mixed reviews on my cut. The good comments include “It looks cute!” and (the best compliment ever) “You should have always had your hair like that!” The bad include “You got your haircut— do you like it?” (a sure sign that the speaker doesn’t like it!) and (my favorite) “Nice Mom-cut!” I immediately get defensive when someone calls it a Mom-cut. To me, Mom hair is super low maintenance and looks like crap. That is basically how my long hair was— SUPER low maintenance (hello, what’s easier that a ponytail?) and crappy looking (I would go MONTHS between haircuts… not exactly the recipe for healthy, pretty hair). BUT, my short hair is slightly higher maintenance (I have to blow it dry— it’s not long enough for a ponytail) and my hair looks much healthier now that it is shorter. Still, if you want to call my new style a Mom cut, go for it. I am a mom, so I guess any haircut from now on is technically a Mom cut (plus, I love that Millie can’t pull my hair as easily now that it’s shorter… ok, I admit it… it’s a Mom cut).

Posted August 10, 2011 by Nate and Julie in Uncategorized

9 responses to “Mom Cut

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a great look for you! Mom cut or not, you’re hot! 🙂 And happy!

  2. If you’re referring to me calling it a Mom cut, remember that I only did it because I specifically knew you didn’t want it to be a mom cut. Plus, if you’ve had it cut that way before children, automatically disqualifies it from mom cut status.

    I’d like to call it an Awesome Cut.

    • Beth, you have not been the only one to call it a Mom cut (not just you and Steve, either!). I’ve been hearing it left and right at work. And some of those people aren’t joking. (PS- It’s definitely a mom cut)

  3. Thanks for making me feel like crap that I still wear my hair in a ponytail every day and seldom to never do anything with it!

  4. Looks great! If I was about 20 lbs lighter, I would love to have my hair cut like that. But as of now, I like to hide behind my long hair. lol.

  5. It looks great! I don’t think it looks like a mom cut at all. It is similar to my current do, although I think I have a little more curl than you do. Maybe I have a mom cut too. That would be weird though, since I don’t have kids, unless you count Josh and Max the dog. Regardless, love it!!!!!

Leave a Reply

