Tiny, But Mighty   Leave a comment

Millie Louise is 9 months old! She is crawling everywhere (she is FAST), jabbers a lot (she says “Da da” and I swear she says “hi”), she loves to dance (bob up and down along to music), and has 3 teeth (she’s working on #4 now). She laughs out loud and likes to be tossed up in the air (which makes Daddy very nervous). She eats all fruits and vegetables and her current favorite food is apples. She still sleeps from 7 pm to 7 am on work nights. On the weekends, she sleeps from 8 pm until 8:30 am. Millie wears size 3 diapers and 6-9 month clothes (mainly because of the length). Millie weighs just 15 lbs 12 oz. That is pretty tiny for a 9 month old. Dr. Gibbons (our pediatrician) says she’s tiny, but mighty (she was not a big fan of her 9 month check up and let him know about it with her mighty voice). Before our appointment, I told Nate that I was hoping she would be 17 lbs. It might seem silly to “hope” for a specific weight, but I know so many moms out there who get to show off their chubby 6 month olds who weigh more than my 9 month old. I’ve always loved chubby babies and I’ve associated chubby rolls with health and happiness, so I think in the back of my mind I’ve been worried about my petite little girl’s slight stature. But, after talking to the doctor, I’m thinking about it differently. Millie is little, but she is still happy and healthy. She has hit all of her developmental milestones so far. She is an absolute joy! Maybe God just knew how much I cherish these baby days— these days when my little girl is small and cuddly and the perfect size for holding, hugging and tossing. These days of her being tiny are fleeting. Someday, she won’t fit so easily in my arms. Maybe God just decided to bless me with a tiny girl that I can comfortably hold for a little longer than other babies. I can’t believe she is going to be a year old in less than 3 months. I can’t slow things down, but I can  hold on to my baby while she is little and I’ll focus on being thankful for this little girl who is growing fast.

Posted February 1, 2012 by Nate and Julie in Millie

Leave a Reply

