Happy Birthday, Millie!   1 comment

Today is Millie’s first birthday! I can hardly believe it! I keep thinking “this time last year…” and fill in the blank. It’s 1:27 pm as I write this. This time last year, we were finally getting settled in the labor and delivery room (after spending an hour in triage while the nurses and doctors debated whether or not I was really in labor— they couldn’t pick up my contractions on the monitor so they weren’t convinced that Millie was really on her way!) and I was asking for my epidural.

I have been pretty teary today. I am not sad that Millie is 1 year old. I’m thrilled! It’s been such a fun year and we’ve really enjoyed each milestone of Millie’s babyhood. Still, I am crazy emotional— I am just overwhelmed with gratitude. I am thankful for such a sweet baby girl. I’m thankful for the 12 weeks I got to spend at home with her. I’m thankful that’s she’s been healthy and happy. I am thankful that I’ve been able to live my dream of being a mother and I am very much looking forward to whatever will come next!

Nate and I wanted to share our favorite moments from Millie 1st year. Feel free to leave a comment with your favorite, too!

Nate: One of my favorite things about Millie is the joy she brings to everyone she meets. I have far too many favorite moments to mention but many of them are her meeting friends and family members for the first time. One of the most meaningful was our trip to Vegas last summer to meet Millie’s Great-Great-Grandmother. I can’t wait to show Millie the pictures of her sitting on Great-Great-Grandma’s lap and telling her how much all about the trip and how much her Great-Great-Grandma loved her.

Julie: My favorite moment was early on. April 30, 2011 at 6 am. Nate and I spent our first night as parents in the hospital and things still didn’t seem quite real. Millie made some adorable squeaky noise and Nate went over to the basinet where she was sleeping, picked her up and sat down with her. I sat there, staring at him while he stared at her, and I have never felt happier in my life. I feel like every wonderful moment from the past year just reminds me of that first special  moment— feel so lucky to have 2 amazing loves in my life.

We are planning to celebrate Millie’s birthday with some family next Saturday, so you will get more birthday details then, but today, it’s just the 3 of us. Happy birthday, Millie!

 

Posted April 29, 2012 by Nate and Julie in Uncategorized

Tagged with

One response to “Happy Birthday, Millie!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a sweet little one year old she is! Though it’s hard to pick just one, my favorite moment with Millie might have to be the first time she said, “Hiiiiiiiiiiiiii!” to me on the phone. I really think that FaceTime is helping her to recognize me and I love it. Can’t wait until the next time I get to see her smiling, gap toothed face in person!

Leave a Reply

