Too Quiet   2 comments

Sometimes, when Millie is playing quietly in her room, I think to myself “what a sweet, independent 16 month old I have.” Then, I listen again and realize she’s not being quiet, she’s being too quiet. There’s definitely a difference. Today, Millie was being waaaayyyyyy too quiet. So, I went down the hall  and learned that her door was closed (not a good sign). When I opened it, this is what I found.

STUFF WAS EVERYWHERE. And she was so proud of her mess. My “favorite” part? The diapers in her crib. Nice touch, Mils.

I ran down the hall to grab my camera and documented the disaster area, and then Millie decided that she needed some privacy and shut the door on me.

SHE SHUT THE DOOR IN MY FACE! I had a flash-forward moment where I foresaw my life as the mother of a teenage daughter who needs her privacy. It was kind of frightening.

At least she smiled at me while kicking me out of her room.

Posted September 15, 2012 by Nate and Julie in Millie

2 responses to “Too Quiet

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a daily occurrence in our house as well. This evening while I was making dinner they pulled everything out of their closet, found a sharpie marker and then marked all over themselves, the furniture and the walls. BTW, rubbing alcohol is great at getting marker off of faces and walls.

    • Those little stinkers! The only time I leave Millie alone for any real length of time is when I am cleaning up (doing dishes, sweeping, mopping, ect) and she ALWAYS makes a huge mess which just leads to more cleaning. I can’t win. Thank goodness she hasn’t gotten into Sharpies or markers yet, but I’m sure she will. I think Sharpie-marking is a right of passage for most toddlers/preschoolers.

Leave a Reply

