38 Weeks   Leave a comment

38 WEEKS PREGNANT!!! AHHHH!! My mom was saying the other day that this pregnancy has flown by. I found out I was expecting on July 16th and, after a very long and cold winter, July feels like a lifetime ago. But I will say that this last trimester has gone by quickly. 

I  have a history of blood clots and am homozygous for Factor V Leiden so I have been on blood thinners this whole pregnancy, just like I was with Millie. I switched from Lovenox (a once a day injection) to Heparin (2 injections a day) 2 weeks ago. Since then, I have had the pleasure of weekly doctor appointments, ultrasounds (to check fluid levels) and twice weekly non-stress tests (he is a little stinker during those— every time they try to get his heart beat on the monitor he moves away and the MA has to go searching for him). Everything has looked good so far. David’s ultrasounds revealed chubby cheeks (so cute, reminds me of his cousin Mateo) and lots of hair (like his sister and cousins John and Gracie)! He also is looking like he running out of room, which is a good thing because it means it’s almost time to get this show on the road! For those of you who like details, I am 2 to 2.5 cm dilated (yay!) but my cervix hasn’t thinned out yet (boo). I go back to the doctor on Monday and am hoping for more “proof” of progress.

I have been having lots of Braxton Hicks contractions with this baby. With Millie, I had some, but they were never painful, just felt like my abdomen was tightening. This time, I have uncomfortable contractions and lots of cramping that make me think “oh, could this be it?” So far, no dice. The contractions are irregular and don’t get any stronger. David just keeps faking me out. Silly boy. 

Now that I’m down to the end, I’m playing the guessing games. When will he make his arrival (I think March 20, the first day of spring, sounds like a lovely birthday)? How much will he weigh (Millie was 7 lbs 4 oz but he feels bigger to me)? Will he look like his sister? What will Millie think of him? Time will tell and— time is running out!!!

Posted March 8, 2014 by Nate and Julie in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

